New Virtual Celebration Format this Year in Response to COVID-19

Kamloops, BC – Our community’s local sport advocacy group, the Kamloops Sports Council, has set the date for the 30th Annual Kamloops Sports Council Athletic Awards and Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame. Since the founding in 1990, the Kamloops Sports Council has worked to create a unified group connecting all disciplines of sports, athletes, and coaches. The annual awards celebrate the achievements of these community members in all levels of sport. This year we are taking the event to an online production considering the current global pandemic. Friday, August 21st will be inaugural online production kicking off at 7:00pm PST. A link for the live presentation can be found on the Kamloops Sports Council website the evening of the awards.

The Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2020 will be welcoming inductees of the likes of Kamloops hockey legend Terry Bangen, FIFA referee Michelle Pye, prominent curler and coach Ray Olsen, decorated figure skater and coach Kim Scott Kryger, CFL player and local coach Brad Yamaoka, and finally the Eve Skakun Rink, winners of three BC Senior Curling Championships in four years. The Athletic Awards will be celebrating award recipients in eight different categories.