Kamloops, BC – On Saturday Night, at the Colombo Lodge, the Kamloops Sports Council hosted the 34th Annual Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame and Annual Athletic Awards Banquet.  This was the first time back to the sit-down banquet style for the Sports Council since the Covid-19 pandemic.  Over 260 people were in attendance to celebrate the Hall of Fame inductees, the Award Recipients and Finalists, as well as celebrating Sport in Canada’s Tournament Capital.

The recipients of the Sports Council’s annual athletic awards were as follows:

Female Athlete of the Year Nominees Sponsored by LN Group
Kendra Woodland (Hockey)

Male Athlete of the Year Nominees Sponsored by Kamloops Minor Baseball
Ethan Katzberg (Athletics)

Coach of the Year Sponsored by Stags Head Liquor Store
Graham MacGregor (Volleyball)

Team of the Year Sponsored by the Kamloops Sports Legacy Fund
SKSS Boys Volleyball Team

Sport Person of the Year Sponsored by Nutech Fire protection and safety
Yves Lacasse and Norm Daley (2023 Memorial Cup)

International Excellence Sponsored by PacificSport Interior BC
Logan Stankoven (Hockey)

University Award Nominees Sponsored by TRU Athletics
Raiya Rumo (Soccer)

Alongside the seven annual awards, two awards were awarded to groups and individuals who had achievements that did not fit within our annual award criteria but needed to be recognized for their accomplishments. Those two awards were presented to the following:

Award of Excellence
Kamloops Canoe and Kayak U16 group

Presidents Award
Brenda Nordin and Linda Bolton (2023 Scotties)


Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame included three individuals and one team for 2024.  KJ Klontz was inducted as an athlete and a builder of Sports in Kamloops.  KJ participated in Hockey, Soccer, Triathlons, Track and Field and Pickleball. KJ has also been credited for creating Women’s Hockey and Girls’ Soccer in the Kamloops Region.

Randy Nelson is a long-distance runner and Curler; Randy has participated in over 200 long-distance running competitions as well as 10 marathons.  Randy has curled in over four thousand games and played in numerous National Championships including the 2006 Brier, Senior, Master and Canadian Police Nationals.

Jim Roode devoted much of his time to the Kamloops Minor Hockey Association (KMHA). From 1981 to 1990 Jim sat as the KMHA president, as well as being the President of the Kamloops International Bantam Ice Hockey Tournament (KIBIHT). He was also the recipient of the KMHA’s Outstanding Service Award in both 1991 and 1992.

The 1972/73 North Kamloops Kinsmen Hockey Club. Before the amalgamation of the Hockey associations in South Kamloops, North Kamloops and Brock, the Kinsmen became the first Kamloops-based team to win a medal at the KIBIHIT winning silver in the ‘B’ group.

To Nominate someone for the Kamloops Sports Annual Athletic Awards please go to https://www.kamloopssportscouncil.com/calendar/athletic-awards/ To submit a nomination for the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame please use this link https://www.kamloopssportscouncil.com/kamloops-sports-…-nomination-form/ ‎