Sign Up for Email Updates
Athletic Awards

Athletic Awards

Kamloops, BC – In 1990 the Kamloops Sports Council held their first official meeting; the ground work began for a unified sport advocacy group to promote communication, development, education and participation of sport in the greater Kamloops area. The Athletic Awards have been awarded annually since 1990 in conjunction with the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame Banquet, which was held this year on April 8th, 2017.

The recipients for the 8 categories are:

Female Athlete of the Year  – Sponsored by LN Group

  • Iuliia Pakhomenko – Volleyball

Male Athlete of the Year – Sponsored by Kamloops Minor Baseball

  • Colin Gilbert – Swimming

Master Athlete of the Year – Sponsored by Royal Canadian Legion Branch 52

  • Margaret Rhebergen – Track and Field

Coach of the Year –  Sponsored by Tim Hortons/Jon Pankuch

  • Scott Clark – Basketball

Team of the Year – Sponsored by Kamloops Blazers Sports Society

  • TRU Men’s Basketball – Basketball

Sport Person of the Year – Sponsored by Daley and Company CPA LLP – Chartered Professional Accountants

  • Norm Daley and Jon Pankuch – IIHF Women’s Worlds

International Excellence –  Sponsored by PacificSport Interior BC

  • Steve Seibel – Basketball Referee

University Award – Sponsored by TRU WolfPack

  • Dylana Milobar – Swimming


To qualify for the Annual Athletic Awards, any nominee, able-bodied or with a disability, who has made a significant contribution to sport in the past calendar year, is eligible. Nominees will be judged on their performance in the past calendar year. (2015)
All nominees must have resided in Kamloops in the calendar year of nomination OR be a member in good standing with a recognized Kamloops Club/Association.

University Award Criteria:

Nominations are open to an individual, coach or team. Must have enrolled full time at any university and have resided in Kamloops in the year being nominated.

International Excellence Award Criteria:

Awarded to an individual, team/s, officials, coaches or support person who has garnered international Excellence in their sport

*Note for the University and International excellence Awards residency requirements are such as the nominee must consider Kamloops home, full time residency is not required



2016 Recipients


Scott Clark



Norm Daley & Jon Pankuch

Sports Person


TRU Men’s Basketball



Iuliia Pakhomenko

Female Athlete


Colin Gilbert

Male Athlete



Dylana Milobar

University Award


Steve Seibel



Margaret Rhebergen

Masters Athlete