The Class of 2019 was enshrined in the Kamloops Sports Hall of Fame on Saturday evening, the four-member group bringing the hall’s membership to 106 all-time.

Earl Seitz the CFJCTV broadcaster who has worked his beat in Kamloops for more than 45 years was inducted.  Earl had to be convinced that he deserved the recognition.  It was well deserved.

Paddy Harrington of the Kamloops Rugby Club had already booked a trip overseas when it was brought to his attention that he would be inducted. He then created a speech and recorded it for all to listen to on Saturday.  He gave many of his peers credit for all the hard work, and the progress of the club over the years.

Tony Parker thanked his mother for ingraining in him the love for volunteering.  He spent 15 year working with the media, and many more years volunteering in our community. Parker said ” It’s something I inherited from my mom.  She was heavily involved in politically oriented volunteering.  With Mother’s Day tomorrow, it’s perfect timing.”

Ted Pierson long time track and field athlete was inducted as well.  His son Neil shared Teds story and the milestones that he achieved.  Neil said “It’s a really great honour for our family to have him recognized.”

Kamloops Rugby Club were inducted in the team category. Erin Connelly- Reed president of the club spoke on behalf of the KRC Saturday evening.  With many of the club members in attendance that evening she brought all  up to the stage to celebrate the occasion.  Connelly- Reed said “Being recognized as an entire club, that is pretty amazing.”

Kamloops Sports Council Awards

Also part of the festivities on Saturday were the Kamloops Sports Council Awards.

The award winners were as follows:

Sports Person of the Year: 

Niki Remesz- 2018 BC Winter Games President

Team of the Year: 

South Kamloops Boys Basketball Team

Coach of the Year: 

Tim Unaegbu- South Kamloops Boys Basketball Team Coach

University Award of the Year: 

Kyle Pauwels- NCAA Lacrosse ( Saint Leo University )

International Award of the Year: 

Greg Stewart- Para Shotput

Master Athlete of the Year: 

Dave Arthurs- Fastball

Female Athlete of the Year: 

Maddy Gobeil- South Kamloops Girls Basketball Team

Male Athlete of the Year:

Gavin Dodd- Kamloops Gymnastics and Trampoline Club